2017 MMFF Winners Revealed

Ang Larawan and Siargao are the big winners of MMFF’s Gabi ng Parangal held last December 27 at the Kia Theatre.

Ang Larawan took home six awards including Best Picture and Best Actress for Joanna Ampil. Second Best Picture winner Siargao garnered the most trophies at seven, including Best Director for Paul Soriano and Best Supporting Actress for Jasmine Curtis-Smith.

Ang Panday also had a great run, bagging three special awards and Best Visual Effects. Deservedly, The Revenger Squad was given the People’s Choice Award.

MMFF runs from December 25 to January 7. Here’s to hoping the wins for Ang Larawan and Siargao translate to longer legs and greater visibility.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Picture (Full-Length): Ang Larawan

2nd Best Picture: Siargao

3rd Best Picture: All of You

Best Picture (Short Film): Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante?


Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Ang Larawan

Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award: Ang Panday

Special Jury Prize: Nick Joaquin (posthumous), Ang Larawan, and Coco Martin, Ang Panday

People’s Choice Award (Full-Length): Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad

People’s Choice Award (Short Film): Noel

Children’s Choice Award: Ang Panday


Best Director: Paul Soriano, Siargao

Best Actor: Derek Ramsay, All of You

Best Actress: Joanna Ampil, Ang Larawan

Best Supporting Actor: Edgar Allan Guzman, Deadma Walking

Best Supporting Actress: Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Siargao

Best Child Performer: Baste, Meant to Beh


Best Screenplay: All of You

Best Cinematography: Siargao

Best Sound: Siargao

Best Theme Song: “Alon” by Hale, Siargao

Best Editing: Siargao

Best Visual Effects: Ang Panday

Best Musical Score: Ang Larawan

Best Production Design: Ang Larawan

Best Float: Deadma Walking


Star of the Night (Male): Derek Ramsay

Star of the Night (Female): Erich Gonzales


Awards Count:

  • Ang Larawan: 6
  • Siargao: 7
  • Ang Panday: 4
  • All of You: 3
  • Deadma Walking: 2
  • Gandarrapido: The Revenger Squad: 1
  • Meant to Beh: 1
  • Haunted Forest: 0

Image credit: MJ Felipe’s Twitter

1 thought on “2017 MMFF Winners Revealed”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *